Tuition & Fees
The current enrollment fee is $46.00 per unit.
The enrollment fee is assessed on all students, including nonresidents.
Exemptions from the enrollment fee are available to students who qualify for one of the following:
- California College Promise Grant (CCPG)
- Temporary Assistance to Needy Families Program (TANF)
- Supplemental Security Income/State Supplementary Program (SSI)
- General Assistance Program
- Indentured apprentices are exempt from enrollment fee for Apprenticeship Program classes only
- Special admission concurrently enrolled high school students
Additional Financial Aid may be available to students who qualify for assistance.
See Financial Aid for more information.
The nonresident tuition fee is $290 per unit. Begininning Fall 2021 the nonresident tuition fee will increase to $307. This fee is in addition to the enrollment and health fees, for students who are not residents of California for tuition purposes.
Residents of California are entitled to attend a community college by paying the community college enrollment fee. For complete details, go to Tuition & Fees and also refer to the Class Schedule.
Nonresidents must pay the enrollment fee plus nonresident tuition. For complete details, go to Tuition & Fees and also refer to the Class Schedule.
- To qualify as a California resident, you must verify physical presence in California and intent to become a resident one-year prior to the residency determination date (the day before classes begin for a new term).
- The one-year period begins when you are not only present in California, but also have demonstrated clear intent to become a resident of California.
- The burden of proof is on the student, to verify both physical presence in California and intent to make California your residence.
Download the Student Residency Classification document for the list of acceptable documents and other information necessary for establishing residency.
Contact the Admissions Office on your campus for additional information.
|College||Admissions Office||Phone Number|
|CITY COLLEGE||Office A-241||619-388-3475||CityRes@sdccd.edu|
|MESA COLLEGE||Office I4-102||619-388-2682||SDMesaAdmissions@sdccd.edu|
|MIRAMAR COLLEGE||Office K-207||619-388-7844||MiraAdm@sdccd.edu|
Nonresident Tuition Exemptions
Education Code section 68075.6 grants an exemption to nonresident tuition for Special Immigrant Visa (SIV) holders and refugee students who settled in California after entering the United States. This exemption is granted for one year from the date the student settled in California upon entering the United States.
This exemption applies to the following:
Please contact the college Residency Office for additional information:
City College: 619-388-3475
|Mesa College: 619-388-2688
|Miramar College: 619-388-7844
California DREAM ACT OF 2011 (AB540)
The California Dream Act of 2011, authored by Assembly Member Gil Cedillo (Los Angeles), became law through the passage of two Assembly Bills, AB 130 and AB 131.
AB 130 allows students who meet AB 540 criteria (California Education Code 68130.5(a)) to apply for and receive non-state funded scholarships for public colleges and universities.
AB 131 allows students who meet AB 540 criteria to apply for and receive state-funded financial aid such as institutional grants, community college fee waivers, Cal Grant and Chafee Grant.
Eligibility for the California College Promise Grant (CCPG) at the California Community Colleges became effective in January 2013. Eligibility for the Cal Grant will become effective for the 2013-2014 school year.
Note: In 2012 SDCCD was approved by the U.S. Department of Education to participate in a program to reduce "over borrowing" by limiting the eligibility and borrowing under "unsubsidized loans" for certain categories of students. See the Financial Aid Bulletin for more details
Students eligible under AB540 may complete the California Dream Act Application csac.ca.gov/california-dream-act
The health services fee is $20 per semester for fall and spring, and $17 for the summer session.
All students are assessed a mandatory fee for Health Services and accident insurance, whether or not they choose to use the Health Services available to them.
The following students are exempt from the health services fee:
- Students who meet the income standards for the California College Promise Grant (CCPG) - A Only
- Students attending under an approved Apprenticeship Program
- Students who depend on prayer for healing, in accordance with the teachings of a bona fide religious sect, denomination, or organization, may petition to have the fee waived. To apply for an exemption, contact the Admissions Office
- Special Admission high school students enrolled in college classes on the high school campus (CCAP)
Student Representation Fee
$2 per semester
All students are assessed a mandatory $2.00 student representation fee per semester. This fee is expended equally to support the: (1) Student Senate of California Community Colleges (SSCCC) and (2) colleges for the purpose of student advocacy efforts to Federal, State and Local governments.
This fee is required of all students who park on campus at the following rates:
- Auto Permits $40.00 ($25 if eligible for financial aid)
- Motorcycle Permits $17.50
- Carpool Permits $30.00
See College Police for information.
Students receiving public assistance, or who are determined eligible for financial aid based on income standards may purchase an automobile parking permit for $25. Contact the Financial Aid Office on campus for eligibility determination.
Associated Students (AS) Membership
$8 per academic year.
The Associated Students are the center of campus involvement, connection and service, to enrich the experience of the entire student body. Membership in the Associated Students allows you to support campus clubs and organizations, create campus-wide activities and events, and advocate for student issues on local, statewide and national levels.
Benefits of membership include:
- Free student planner
- One free transcript
- Free scantrons
- Free or discounted admission to all AS sponsored events
- AS scholarship opportunities
- And more...
Transcript of Record
$5.00 per transcript.
Students can order transcripts through our transcript partner Credentials (credit or debit cards only):
- Current students may be order transcripts through mySDCCD.
- Former students of San Diego City, Mesa or Miramar Colleges, or those who do not have an mySDCCD account, may order directly through Credentials by clicking on this link.
- Transcripts ordered online will be mailed in 1-2 business days.
- If the receiving institution accepts electronic transcripts, the transcript will be sent electronically the same day.
- If you need to pay with cash or check, download the Transcript Request Form or pick one up at your College Accounting or Admissions Office.
- Hand delivered transcripts must be ordered in person at the at the District Office at 3375 Camino del Rio South, Suite 100, San Diego, CA 92108-3883. District Office hours are Monday–Thursday 8:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m.; and Friday 8:00 a.m. – 3:00 p.m.
- Hand delivered transcript requests ordered at the District Office are considered “RUSH” orders. An additional $10.00 “RUSH” fee will be applied due to the special handling required.
- Third Party Authorization: If another person is ordering and/or picking up your transcript, you need to provide a written letter or complete the Transcript Request Form, include your personal information as well as the person’s name who is requesting the transcript on your behalf. A photo ID will be required.
NOTE: Transcripts sent from our college to another institution are considered to be official. Transcripts presented by a student are considered to be unofficial unless sealed and noted to be official on the outside of the envelope.
Click here for information regarding transcripts from previous colleges/universities attended.
Questions? You may send an email to firstname.lastname@example.org or call 619-388-6924.
Credit by Examination
$46.00 per unit
Instructional Materials Fee/Other Special Fees
This additional fee is required of students enrolled in certain courses. Courses may carry a nominal fee for instructional materials or other special fees provided to students throughout the semester.
Loss or damage of equipment or books
Cost of Materials
Returned Check Fee - A $25 fee will be assessed for any returned check(s)
The college reserves the right to revoke check writing privileges.
All fees are subject to change.
Books and Supplies
Students are expected to buy all books and supplies needed for their courses. Certain occupational programs may require additional expenditures for tools and/or uniforms.
REMINDER: Purchase your books early for the best options and lowest cost, including used books and book rentals. The college bookstore return/refund deadline for intersession class purchases is January 8, 2019 (if returned in store), or postmarked by January 9, 2019 if returning by mail. For the primary Spring semester, the return deadline is February 2, 2019. Note: If the textbook information is not provided on the class schedule, contact the instructor.
Courses that exclusively use digital course materials are free of charge to students and therefore are not required to be purchased. Note that there may be a low-cost option for print versions of digital materials. Digital materials include, but are not limited to: course materials, modules, textbooks, streaming videos, tests, software and any other tools, materials, or techniques used to support access to knowledge. The class schedule will have this icon next to classes that offer zero cost digital materials.
Forms of Payment
All fees must be paid in full by the date indicated under the Finances tab on mySDCCD.
Fees may be paid by credit card (Visa or MasterCard), check, money order, cashier's check or students may sign up for a Payment Plan in mySDCCD. A cancelled check or credit card statement will serve as a receipt.
If paying by check or credit card, students may be administratively dropped if payment is not cleared by the bank; however this will not relieve the student's financial liability to the college.
If fees are being paid by a third party (e.g., tuition assistance, State Department of Rehabilitation, employer sponsorship programs, scholarships, etc.), the student must contact the college Student Accounting Office to process paperwork and complete registration prior to the due date provided at the time of registration.
Payment Plans allow students to pay their fees in installments. Students who owe a minimum of $250 in a term will be able to sign up, make a 20% down payment along with a nonrefundable $25 Payment Plan fee, and make monthly payments.
- Students must have a minimum balance of $250 in a term to be able to sign up for a payment plan for that term.
- Payment plans are not available to students with anticipated financial aid or veterans benefits.
- The $25 fee is not refundable if a student signs up for a payment plan and later becomes eligible for financial aid or veterans benefits.
- If a student becomes eligible for financial aid or veterans benefits, those awards will be applied to the remaining balance on the payment plan. Certain types of financial aid may not apply to fees (e.g. bookstore awards).
- Payment Plans are not available to international students or students enrolled in a prior Payment Plan that is in delinquent status.
- Payment plans may be set up with ‘Manual Payments’ or ‘Automatic Credit Card Payments’.
- Payment plans are by term. A $25 charge from TouchNet will be assessed on each payment plan per term.
- The final installment is due before the next term’s registration period A registration hold, preventing future enrollment, will be placed on student accounts with an unpaid payment plan balance remaining after the final installment date has passed.
- Students on a payment plan are required to contact the Student Accounting Office to purchase a parking permit (students with a balance on their account cannot purchase a permit online).
- Payment plans will recalculate the payment amounts under the following actions:
- When a class is added, dropped or cancelled
- When new charges are added
- When a payment is applied
- When the student logs into TouchNet through mySDCCD
- Adding classes after signing up for a payment plan: If the next payment installment is due within 2 weeks, there will not be an increase to that next installment. The additional amount will be equally distributed across the remaining installments.
- Dropping classes after signing up for a payment plan: If charges are reduced, all future installments with be adjusted accordingly, regardless of when the next installment is due.
- If fees on the payment plan are not paid by the final installment date, a hold will be placed on the student’s account preventing future enrollment.
For questions about payment processing, call TouchNet support at (833) 269-3675.
For questions regarding your SDCCD account, contact the Student Accounting Office.
|College||Accounting Office||Phone Number|
|CITY COLLEGE||Office A-256||619-388-3458||CityStudentAccounting@sdccd.edu|
|MESA COLLEGE||Office I4email@example.com|
|MIRAMAR COLLEGE||Office Kfirstname.lastname@example.org|
Fees will be refunded to students who reduce their program in accordance with the following schedule:
- Refunds for fall and spring primary (16-week session) is Friday of the second week
- Refund deadlines for all other classes are located in the class search under the calendar icon ('Important Deadlines')
- Refund deadlines are also located for a specific term at https://www.sdccd.edu/students/dates-and-deadlines under "Important Dates and Deadlines"
- No refund is given for classes dropped after the published deadline
- Refunds will be processed after the add/drop deadline.
- Students with a valid address on file and who do not have an outstanding financial obligation to the district will receive a refund in the mail or credit to their credit card.
- For payments by check, there is a five week waiting period for checks to clear the bank before refunds will be processed.
- Students who are administratively dropped when a Petition to Challenge is denied will receive a full refund of the class(es) petitioned.
- Students who are academically disqualified and administratively dropped will receive a full refund.
- Students who have paid in full and subsequently received a California College Promise Grant (CCPG) will receive refund of enrollment fees. Student Health Services fees are not waived for financial aid students.
For more information, contact the Accounting Office on campus.
TUITION STATEMENT – 1098-T TAX FORM
The 1098-T tax form is a Tuition Statement provided by higher education institutions to all eligible students who pay enrollment fees (including non-resident tuition) during the calendar year. The 1098-T tax form may be used by students or parents to claim the American opportunity tax credit (formerly "Hope credit") or Lifetime Learning Credit on their federal income tax returns.
More information on the 1098-T Tax Form can be found at www.irs.gov or by contacting the IRS at 1-800-829-1040.